With the timely hit from pinch hitter 張閔勛 (Chang Min-Hsun) in the 8th, Lamigo Monkeys have secured win number 72 for this season and set the CPBL record for most wins in a single season.

Win #72 and beyond

The previous most wins record (71) was set by the Uni-Lions back in 2012 season.  With 12 games left in the 2017 season, Monkeys potentially can push this single season win record even further.

For Monkeys manager 洪一中 (Hong I-Chung) this season is definitely a career year for him.  As so far in 2017 CPBL fans have witnessed Hong reached the 700th career win milestone and setting the CPBL record for most wins as manager (716) and most win in a single season (72).

I’m just here to lead the team.  Without players, the record breaking 72 wins will be impossible to achieve” Said Monkeys skipper Hong I-Chung after the game.

Lamigo Monkeys official poster for most wins in a single season
Lamigo Monkeys setting CPBL record for most wins in a single season.

Update on the Single Season Wins Record

The Lamigo Monkeys have further extended the single season win records to 78 wins.  Monkeys finished the 2017 season with 78 wins, 41 losses and 1 draw.  With the win percentage of 0.655.

Previous CPBL seasons for most wins (1990-2017)

YearTeam with most winsGameWinLossDraw%
1990Wei Chuan Dragons90523440.605
1991Uni-President 7-Eleven Lions904634100.575
1992Brother Elephants90513540.593
1993Uni-President 7-Eleven Lions90543420.614
1994Brother Elephants90642420.727
1995Uni-President 7-Eleven Lions100623620.633
1996Uni-President 7-Eleven Lions100603730.619
1997Uni-President 7-Eleven Lions96583170.652
1998Sinon Bulls105584520.563
1999Chinatrust Whales91602920.674
2000Sinon Bulls90513810.573
2001Uni-President 7-Eleven Lions90493740.570
2002Brother Elephants90533340.616
2003Brother Elephants100633160.670
2004Uni-President 7-Eleven Lions100544060.574
2005Sinon Bulls101534260.558
2006La New Bears100623440.646
2007Uni-President 7-Eleven Lions100584110.586
2008Uni-President 7-Eleven Lions100673300.670
2009Uni-President 7-Eleven Lions120635430.538
2010Sinon Bulls120655320.551
2011Lamigo Monkeys120665220.559
2012Uni-President 7-Eleven Lions120714810.597
2013Uni-President 7-Eleven Lions120625530.530
2014Lamigo Monkeys120665130.564
2015Lamigo Monkeys120685200.567
2016Chinatrust Brothers120685020.576
2017Lamigo Monkeys120784110.655


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here