2018 CPBL First-Half Champion: Lamigo Monkeys

With the solid performance by Bruce Kern and a timely hit from the rookie 廖健富 (Liao Chien-Fu), the Lamigo Monkeys have successfully clinched the 2018 CPBL first-half season championship by defeating the Chinatrust Brother 3 to 1.

With the franchise’s 11th half-season championship in the bag, the Monkeys have also secured a spot in the 2018 Taiwan Series.

Despite hitting a few hurdles towards the end of the first-half season, but the whole team came together in the last few games and we have successfully captured the half-season championship,” said the Monkeys’ manager 洪一中 (Hong I-Chung).

Recap and Heroes of the Game

Despite the three hours rain delay, the both teams and the league were determined to play the game. After six hours, the 14,889 Monkeys fans can finally threw the streamers into the stadium to celebrate winning the 2018 first-half title.

It was one of those rare CPBL pitching duel match-up, with both teams carried a zero-to-zero tie to the bottom of the 8th, when the Monkeys’ super rookie 廖健富 (Liao Chien-Fu) puts the Monkeys ahead with a 2-RBI triple.

Returning for his third season in Taiwan, the Monkeys’ starting pitcher Bruce Kern pitched one of his best game in his CPBL career. The flame-throwing righty went 8 innings, only allowed 1 earned run and 2 hits while striking out 7. It is also worth noting, Kern carried a no-hitter into the 6th inning.

Everyone’s so excited for the game, and I just want to give them my best performance,” said the MVP of the game Bruce Kern III in the post-game interview.

CPBL Half-Season Championship: By the Number

Apart from the 1998 and 1999 seasons where the CPBL went with the single season format. In over 29 years of the CPBL, the league have produced over 55 half-season champions.

Here is a listing of all of half-season championship teams, their years of services and the number of half season championships.

  1. Chinatrust Brothers – 29 seasons – 14 half season championships.
  2. Uni-Lions – 29 seasons – 13 half season championships.
  3. Lamigo Monkeys – 11 seasons – 11 half season championships.
  4. Fubon Guardians – 26 seasons – 8 half season championships.
  5. Wei-Chuan Dragons – 10 seasons – 4 half season championships.
  6. Macoto Cobras – 6 seasons – 2 half season championships.
  7. Chinatrust Whales – 12 seasons – 1 half season championship.
  8. Mercuries Tigers – 10 seasons – 1 half season championship.
  9. China Times Eagles – 5 seasons – 1 half seasons championship.

*Notes for the teams that are in bold above.

  • Chinatrust Brothers also counting Brother Elephants.
    • Brother Elephants won 11 titles between 1990 to 2013.
    • Chinatrust Brothers won 3 titles between 2014 to 2018.
    • Two different ownership.
  • Lamigo Monkeys also counting La New Bears.
    • La New Bears won 5 titles between 2004 to 2010.
    • Lamigo Monkeys won 6 titles between 2011 to 2018.
    • Same ownership.
  • Fubon Guardians also counting EDA Rhinos and Sinon Bulls.
    • Sinon Bulls won 6 titles between 1996 to 2012.
    • EDA Rhinos won 2 titles between 2013 to 2016.
    • Three different ownership.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here